Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | Casino Poker | Tournament Reports

Aussie Millions Event #8 - Australian 2-Card Manila Championship

Share this
2-Card Manila is a poker variant that you don’t hear much about outside of Australia, and Event #8 of the Aussie Millions may be the only big buy-in Manila tournament in 2008, but the game drew 10 top-notch runners for the $3,250 2-Card Manila Championship at the Crown Casino in Melbourne.

Manila is a reduced-deck poker variant where all cards lower than 7 are removed from the deck. Two hole cards are dealt to each player, and five community cards are dealt face up in the middle of the table. Unlike Hold ‘Em and Omaha, the community cards are dealt one at a time, with a round of betting after each card. Once all five community cards are dealt, players must use both hole cards with three cards from the board to make their best five-card hand. In Manila, a flush is a bigger hand than a full house because of the reduced deck and an Ace can only play high for a straight.

The 10 players who took to the felt for the 2008 Australian 2-card Manila Championship were -

Seat 1: Markas Salkanovic
Seat 2: Karib Karib
Seat 3: Warwick Mirzikinian
Seat 4: Yevgeniy Timoshenko
Seat 5: Graeme Putt
Seat 6: Max Donnelly
Seat 7: David Steicke
Seat 8: Antonis Kambouroglou
Seat 9: Fred Bart
Seat 10: Mark Scott

Karib Karib ran Aces into trip Kings in the first level to become the first elimination. He decided against the rebuy, as did Mark Scott and 2006 champion Fred Bart, whose quest for a second Manila championship was cut short in the second level. By the end of the rebuy period, the seven remaining players had accounted for eight rebuys, with David Steicke leading the charge with a Negreanu-esque five rebuys among seven players!

After a short bubble period, Graeme ‘Kiwi G’ Putt went out in 4th, and the field of three played down to one rapidly, with Antonis Kambouroglou taking down the top prize and the $27,000 first place prize money when he eliminated former chip leader Warwick Mirzikinian to claim his trophy! The final list of finishers and payouts looked like this -

1st - Antonis Kambouroglou ($27,000)
2nd - Warwick Mirzikinian ($16,200)
3rd – Yevgeniy Timoshenko ($10,800)
4th – Graeme Putt
5th - Max Donnelly
6th - David Steicke
7th - Markas Salkanovic
8th – Fred Bart
9th – Mark Scott
10th – Karib Karib

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed