Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | World Poker News

Players Announced for NBC National Heads-Up Championship

Share this
The 2008 NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship, already in its fourth season, is on the horizon, and 60 of the 64 players have been announced. The four remaining seats will be filled by qualifiers whose spots have not yet been secured.

With the first round of heads-up matches scheduled to begin on February 29th, the majority of the players have accepted their invitations and are prepared to pay the $20,000 entry fee. The winner will take home a $500,000 first prize.

While there are numerous players returning who have played in previous years, including defending champion Paul Wasicka and previous champions Phil Hellmuth and Ted Forrest, there are a number of new players. Some of them are Bill Edler, David Singer, Tom Schneider, Jerry Yang, Jean-Robert Bellande, Brian Townsend, Jonathan Little, Scott Clements, and Tom Dwan. Also new to the list are celebrities Jason Alexander and Brad Garrett, as well as well-known baseball player Orel Hershiser.

NBC has released the list of 60 players in alphabetical order, with first-time National Heads-Up Poker Championship players in bold.

1. Alexander, Jason
2. Antonius, Patrik
3. Bellande, Jean-Robert
4. Benyamine, David
5. Brown, Chad
6. Brunson, Doyle
7. Brunson, Todd
8. Chan, Johnny
9. Cheadle, Don
10. Clements, Scott
11. Cloutier, T.J.
12. Cunningham, Allen
13. Deeb, Freddy
14. Duke, Annie
15. Dwan, Tom
16. Edler, Bill
17. Elezra, Eli
18. Elizabeth, Shannon
19. Esfandiari, Antonio
20. Farha, Sam
21. Ferguson, Chris
22. Fischman, Scott
23. Forrest, Ted
24. Garrett, Brad
25. Gold, Jamie
26. Gowen, Clonie
27. Greenstein, Barry
28. Grizzle, Sam
29. Hachem, Joe
30. Hansen, Gus
31. Harman, Jennifer
32. Hellmuth, Phil
33. Hershiser, Orel
34. Ivey, Phil
35. Juanda, John
36. Kaplan, Gabe
37. Laak, Phil
38. Lederer, Howard
39. Lindgren, Erick
40. Little, Jonathan
41. Matusow, Mike
42. Mizrachi, Michael
43. Negreanu, Daniel
44. Nguyen, Scotty
45. Pham, David
46. Raymer, Greg
47. Rousso, Vanessa
48. Schneider, Tom
49. Schreiber, Daniel
50. Seed, Huck
51. Seidel, Erik
52. Singer, David
53. Smith, Gavin
54. Tilly, Jennifer
55. Townsend, Brian
56. Tran, J.C.
57. Tran, Kenny
58. Wasicka, Paul
59. Williams, David
60. Yang, Jerry

The drawing party to determine the matches will take place at Pure Nightclub at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas at 9pm on the evening of February 28, 2008. The tournament will then begin the following day and run for three days, at which time the champion will be determined.

The format for the matches, as has been in previous years, is a series of heads-up matches in a single-elimination, bracket-style format. Details of the structure can be found at, and the filmed series of matches will be produced for air on NBC on dates yet to be announced.

*photo courtesy of NBC Sports website*

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed