Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | World Series of Poker | WSOP2008 | WSOP 2008 Tournaments

$50K HORSE Day 4 – In Search of the Final Table

Share this
The HORSE event is unique for a number of reasons, the most obvious of which is the massive $50,000 buy-in. There is also the caliber of player who enters, the mixed games being played, and the amount of attention it receives from fans and media. It is unique because all of these factors combine to make it the most sought-after and prestigious title in all of poker, but most importantly, the title means more than the prize money.

The WSOP main event is important, as is the WPT Championship and the EPT Grand Final. But the $50K HORSE is it. And there is no better evidence of it than the inaugural event champion, Chip Reese, in 2006, and the 2007 champion Freddy Deeb.

Day 4 of the event was crucial. It was to be the day that the final 16 players would be in the money, and while that wasn’t of the utmost importance, it was the next step to reaching the final table and the ultimate title, the WSOP bracelet, and the Chip Reese trophy. There would undoubtedly be a great deal of intensity at the tables today.

Out of the 24 players who made it through three tough days, only eight would finish Day 4 as members of the elite final table. The starting lineup was a stellar one, with Michael DeMichele in the chip lead and Barry Greenstein in a close second. The details were as follows:

Table 1
Seat 1 James Mackey 151,000
Seat 2 Farzad Bonyadi 365,000
Seat 3 Ralph Perry 1,043,000
Seat 4 Joseph Michael 647,000
Seat 5 Lyle Berman 939,000
Seat 6 Barry Greenstein 1,311,000
Seat 7 Mike Wattel 474,000
Seat 8 Phil Ivey 145,000

Table 2
Seat 1 Michael DeMichele 1,351,000
Seat 2: Andy Bloch 421,000
Seat 3 Brandon Adams 290,000
Seat 4 Huck Seed 190,000
Seat 5 Chad Brown 81,000
Seat 6 Patrick Bueno 806,000
Seat 7 Gabe Kaplan 360,000
Seat 8 Scotty Nguyen 1,033,000

Table 3
Seat 1 Matt Glantz 521,000
Seat 2 Raymond Davis 438,000
Seat 3 Erick Lindgren 485,000
Seat 4 Edwin Ting 261,000
Seat 5 Daniel Negreanu 1,226,000
Seat 6 David Bach 801,000
Seat 7 Michael Mizrachi 701,000
Seat 8 Doyle Brunson 777,000

It didn’t take long before one player was the first to go. Chad Brown was eliminated by Patrick Bueno in a stud hand in 24th place. Gabe Kaplan was barely welcomed back to the table before he was also gone; he took 23rd place. James Mackey did the courtesy of exiting in 22nd place, thanks to Farzad Bonyadi, and Michael Mizrachi left the tournament in 21st place. Edwin Ting took 20th, Brandon Adams was out in 19th, and Farzad Boynadi took 18th.

Hand-for-hand action began to determine the 17th place bubble player, and it wasn’t long before the time came. In a stud hand, it was Mike Wattel up against Barry Greenstein, and the latter caught a flush to win. Wattel was out in 17th place – the unfortunate bubble boy of the $50K HORSE event.

A redraw took place to reseat players at the final two tables, and the lotto produced the following match-ups:

Table 32
Seat 1 Patrick Bueno 730,000
Seat 2 Huck Seed 900,000
Seat 3 Joseph Michael 575,000
Seat 4 Scotty Nguyen 1,050,000
Seat 5 Phil Ivey 635,000
Seat 6 Barry Greenstein 1,300,000
Seat 7 Doyle Brunson 60,000
Seat 8 David Bach 800,000

Table 39
Seat 1 Erick Lindgren 355,000
Seat 2 Raymond Davis 1,200,000
Seat 3 Michael DeMichele 1,010,000
Seat 4 Lyle Berman 1,100,000
Seat 5 Andy Bloch 120,000
Seat 6 Ralph Perry 1,635,000
Seat 7 Daniel Negreanu 1,480,000
Seat 8 Matt Glantz 1,460,000

Soon after the reorganization, the very short-stacked Doyle Brunson was able to double through Patrick Bueno in the hold’em round. But a bit later, during the stud round, Brunson found himself up against Greenstein and Ivey, and Ivey ended up with the winning pair of Kings with an Ace kicker. Greenstein and Brunson simply mucked, and with that, Doyle Brunson was out of the tournament in 16th place. He was awarded $124,320 for his efforts, though it can only be assumed that he wanted the Chip Reese trophy for sentimental reasons. It wasn’t meant to be this year, and despite a very deep run at the championship of championships, Brunson left the building.

Andy Bloch had been working a short stack for quite some time, doubling through Raymond Davis earlier to stay alive, then doing the same through Michael DeMichele. But he wasn’t able to continue that trend, and when he came up against Matt Glantz in the stud round, he couldn’t make it happen and was forced to accept a 15th place finish with a prize of $124,320.

And just prior to the dinner break, one more elimination took place, and his name was Joseph Michael. David Bach sent Michael out in 14th place for a consolation prize of $142,080.

Upon returning from the dinner break, short-stacked Daniel Negreanu decided to put it all-in in a stud hand with Lyle Berman. Negreanu couldn’t beat Berman’s full house and was forced out in 13th place with a $142,080 bonus. Though it took some time, Phil Ivey was the next to go. At the hands of Scotty Nguyen in a stud round, Ivey was eliminated in 12th place with $159,840 – barely enough for a prop bet.

Play had slowed. Since the dinner break, only two players were eliminated in a time span of more than three hours, and it began to feel as if nothing could destroy the remaining competitors. The final table was so close, just around the corner and less than 24 hours away…

At 2am, David Bach, who had been getting shorter and shorter in the chip stack arena, finally got into a stud hand with Nguyen and lost. Bach was the 11th place finisher, which was good for $159,840. Not long after, Raymond Davis also got involved with Nguyen and was left on the bad end of the deal. Davis took 10th place and $177,600.

And as soon as the final nine players were reseated on one table, Ralph Perry did the sad honors of bubbling the ESPN final table of eight. He was eliminated by Huck Seed in an Omaha-8 hand to take leave of the Amazon Room in 9th place with $177,600.

Eight players were set to return for Day 5 of the 2008 WSOP $50K HORSE tournament, and what a final table! The seating chart and chip counts for the final eight was announced as follows:

Seat 1 Matt Glantz 1,445,000
Seat 2: Huck Seed 1,200,000
Seat 3 Patrick Bueno 695,000
Seat 4 Lyle Berman 1,430,000
Seat 5 Scotty Nguyen 3,535,000
Seat 6 Barry Greenstein 1,955,000
Seat 7 Michael DeMichele 905,000
Seat 8 Erick Lindgren 3,680,000

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed