Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | World Poker News

EPT Season 5 Kicks Off With Awards in Barcelona

Share this
In only a few weeks, the fifth season of the European Poker Tour (EPT) will launch into a set of tournaments that will span the continent and give poker players from all over the world the chance to compete for millions of poker Euros. And on the first stop of the EPT in Barcelona, PokerStars will introduce the first ever European Poker Tour Awards on the eve of the first day of tournament play.

The EPT Awards will be held on September 9th at the Opium Mar in Barcelona to honor the achievements of players during Season 4 of the tour. Hosts for the evening will be Gloria Balding and Team PokerStars Pro Daniel Negreanu, and they will announce nominees and hand out awards for a total of seven categories, two of which will be open to the voting of the general public. Those two categories are the People’s Choice Award and Poker Writer’s Award. Voting is now open on the EPT website and will continue until August 29th.

The remaining five categories will be judged by an expert panel of EPT Executive Director John Duthie, former PokerStars Online Card Room Manager Lee Jones, Team PokerStars Pro Victoria Coren, and PokerNews Editor-in-Chief John Caldwell. Those categories are best newcomer, best performance, best overseas player, best PokerStars qualifier, and player of the year. Nominees in each category are as follows:

Best Newcomer:
Trond Erik Eidsvig, Denes Kalo, Jason Mercier, Annette Obrestad, Mike McDonald

Best Performance:
Jason Mercier, Julian Thew, Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier, Glen Chorny, Mike McDonald

Best Overseas Player:
Tim Vance, Isaac Baron, Raymond Rahme, Danny Ryan, Mike McDonald

Best PokerStars Qualifer:
Mike McDonald, Glen Chorny, Christian Harder, Isaac Baron, Danny Ryan

Player of the Year:
Luca Pagano, Trond Erik Eidsvig, Johannes Straussman, Jan Heitman, Thierry Van der Berg

Just after the EPT Awards ceremony wraps up and the parties subside, the EPT Barcelona Open will begin on September 10th and continue through to the final table on September 14th.

There are still opportunities to win seats to any of the numerous stops on the fifth season of the EPT through PokerStars. Satellites are running around the clock. To get started and do what so many others have parlayed into millions of dollars in live tournament winnings, download PokerStars now. And by using the bonus code “First2008” upon registration and “POKERWORKS” upon deposit, new players receive $25 free and a 100% bonus on amounts up to $50.

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed