Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | World Poker News

2008 European Poker Awards Nominees Announced

Share this
It is that time of the year again, when one year winds down and the poker industry looks at the accomplishments of the players of the exiting year. Though the actual awards won’t be held until January 15, 2009, the nominees have been announced for the 2008 European Poker Awards.

Last year, the big winners at the ceremony of recognition were 19-year old Annette Obrestad as Tournament Performer of the Year, Russian Alex Kravchenko as Player of the Year, and Katja Thater for Europe’s Leading Lady, and Soren Kongsgaard for Rookie of the Year. And Thomas Kremser was giving the Lifetime Achievement Award to top off the festivities.

The 2008 European Poker Awards are set to take place at the famed Aviation Club in Paris, France on the evening of January 15th, where outstanding European players and casino staff will be honored at the awards ceremony. Several players have been nominated in multiple categories, like Neil Channing, Sebastian Ruthenberg, Marty Smyth, David Benyamine, and Bertrand Grospellier. And Madeleine Harper, who won an award last year, is up for two more this year. All of the nominees are as follows:

Rookie of the Year:

Stephen Chidwick, Ivan Demidov, Davidi Kitai, Jeper Hougaard, Sebastian Ruthenberg, Alexander Kostritsyn, Peter Eastgate

Best Tournament Performance:
Neil Channing, Bertrand Grospellier, David Benyamine, Marty Smyth, Jesper Hougaard, Sebastian Ruthenberg, Peter Eastgate

Player of the Year:

Bertrand Grospellier, David Benyamine, Andreas Krause, Marty Smyth, Neil Channing

Europe’s Leading Lady
Sandra Naujoks, Isabelle Mercier, Kara Scott, Annette Obrestad, Svetlana Gromenkova

Casino Staff Person of the Year

Thomas Kremser, Sylvie Berlanger, Jonathan Raab, Simon Trumper, Madeleine Harper

Rob Gardner Award for Innovation:
Rob Young, Gene Gioia, Jonathan Raab, PokerStars Team (Francine Watson, Conrad Brunner, Madeleine Harper)

The recipient of the 2008 Lifetime Achievement Award has yet to be announced.

All categories have tough competition, and all players nominated in their respective categories are not only popular in Europe - as well as on a more global level - but have all had successful years that put them in contention for those awards.

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed