Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | World Poker News

Season 6 of High Stakes Poker Announced to Debut February 2010

Share this
It is undoubtedly one of the most popular poker-related shows on television among poker players themselves, as the play mimics that of a high-stakes cash game with competitors’ own money on the line. And the announcement was made on November 5 that taping has begun for Season 6 of High Stakes Poker with a season premiere date on GSN of February 14, 2010.

The biggest change that players will notice when tuning in to the cable network for High Stakes Poker in its latest season is a new co-host. Gabe Kaplan will remain as a staple of the show, but AJ Benza has been replaced with Kara Scott, who is well-known in poker circles as much for her tournament play as her previous role as TV host of the European Poker Tour and most recent assignment as on-camera interviewer at the WSOP Europe. Those who recognize her from the tables will know that she made deep runs in the 2008 and 2009 WSOP Main Event, but her best finish to date was second place at the main event of the 2009 Irish Open in Dublin.

November production of the shows will get underway at the Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino in downtown Las Vegas with some of the biggest names in poker coming to the table with a minimum buy-in of $200,000 in cash. Viewers will notice a new look of the set and new camera angles that will put “viewers in the thick of the poker action.” With Scott joining Kaplan in the hosting role and Scott also interviewing players about the action, fans of the show will see more and hear more from the players than in previous seasons.

Some of the players who have already made multiple appearances in past seasons will return, such as Doyle Brunson, David Benyamine, Patrik Antonius, Eli Elezra, Antonio Esfandiari, Barry Greenstein, Mike Matusow, Phil Hellmuth and Daniel Negreanu. Phil Ivey will return after a several-season hiatus, and Tom Dwan and Allan Meltzer will return after their first appearances on Season 5 . Those making their first forays into the world of HSP include Dennis Phillips, Lex Veldhuis, Yevgeniy Timoshenko, Sammy George, and Andreas Hoivold.

The new shows will begin airing on GSN on February 14, 2010 and continue each Sunday night thereafter at 8pm ET. Viewers can also catch repeat episodes on Sundays at 11pm and 2am.

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed