Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | World Poker News

List of Players Released NBC National Heads-Up Poker

Share this

As the sixth annual NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship quickly approaches, the list of players has already been released, as well as the NBC broadcast dates. There are seven qualifiers on the list of competitors who have yet to be named, but the rest of the attendees have confirmed and look to make up a solid series of heads-up poker matches for the show. The tournament festivities with a $1.5 million prize pool will kick off on March 4 with the drawing party at PURE Nightclub at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas, at which points the brackets will be established and the matches will be ready to begin on March 5. Two days of matches will then result in the finals to be held on March 7.
Last year, Huck Seed defeated Vanessa Rousso for the title, and both players will return in 2010 to compete again. Some legends of the game will be present, such as Doyle Brunson, Phil Ivey, Mike Sexton, and Johnny Chan, as well as players who have made names for themselves recently like Joe Cada, Eric Baldwin, Darvin Moon, Brock Parker, Pieter de Korver, Leo Wolpert, and JP Kelly. Celebrities who have also shown themselves to be solid players are on the list - Don Cheadle, Orel Hershiser, Jennifer Tilly, and Gabe Kaplan. Kara Scott will make her debut as a PartyPoker-sponsored pro, and Annette Obrestad will play her first major televised tournament in the United States since she turned 21.
Other big names confirmed to be in attendance include Andy Bloch, Allen Cunningham, Erik Seidel, Annie Duke, Tom Dwan, Sam Farha, Chris Ferguson, Barry Greenstein, Joe Hachen, Gus Hansen, Phil Hellmuth, Phil Laak, Bertrand Grospellier, John Juanda, Howard Lederer, Scotty Nguyen, Daniel Negreanu, Erick Lindgren, Mike Matusow, Greg Raymer, Chris Moneymaker, Jerry Yang, and Jamie Gold.
The tournament will again be sponsored by and broadcast on NBC. Coverage of all matches will be readied for the following weekend air dates on NBC, though times may be adjusted due to previously scheduled sports programming:

April 18:
Noon-1am ET
April 25:
Noon-2pm ET
May 2:
Noon-2pm ET
May 9:
Noon-2pm ET
May 16:
Noon-2pm ET
May 23:
noon-3pm ET

NBC Sports Executive Vice President Jon Miller commented, “The lineup of competitors for this year’s event is the best yet. Continually bringing together the best of the best to compete in this unique format has made the National Heads-Up Poker Championship one of the most anticipated poker events of the year.”

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed