Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | World Poker News

Splashing the Pot –WPT Championship, Full Tilt Investigations, WSOP TOC votes…

Share this
Splashing the Pot captures the foam created by the disturbance and turbulence of action, action, action, and is filled with tidbits above and beyond the victories and beats and adds a little spice to the game of poker.

Not Just Another Pretty Face; Liv Boeree Wins EPT San Remo Championship

Prior to this week Liv Boeree was known in the poker world, but more so for her magazine layouts than her play.  She has certainly taken the game seriously though, playing in numerous tournaments since she first entered the scene in 2007.  However, her best cash had only been $42,000, which is not bad  but it seems like small change compared to the €1,250,000 (roughly $1.6 million) she just won for outlasting 1,239 others to win the European Poker Tour’s San Remo Main Event.

In addition to winning her biggest prize, she also now holds the distinction of winning the biggest EPT tournament ever held on European soil.  She is also the third woman to win an EPT title, following Sandra Naujoks and Victoria Coren.  Finally, as she was posing for pictures with her €1,250,000 it was also pointed out that she also earned a free entry into the EPT Grand Finale, which will start next week in Monte Carlo.

EPT Award Voting Taking Place for “Players’ Choice Award” and “EPT Achievement Award”

Shortly after the last hand is dealt at the EPT Monte Carlo event on April 30, an awards ceremony recognizing the most outstanding players from season 6 of the tour will take place.  Most of the awards are results oriented and determined by a point system, but two awards are up for grabs by a voting process. Those allowed to vote are selected members of the media and any player that participated in a season six event.

The first award is the Players’ Choice Award.  This award is open to any player that participated in any live event during Season 6 of the EPT.  The “EPT Achievement Award” will be the last award given of the night, and will signify the best player on the tour for that season as seen through the eyes of the media and their peers.  The nominees for this award have already been determined through their achievements up to this point in the season.
Some names that appear on the list are Sorel Mizzi, who won back-to-back side events at EPT Snowfest, Peter Eastgate, who had three cashes this season, and Allan Baekkee, who won the Main Event at EPT Snowfest, and followed that with a 12th place performance at EPT San Remo.
Voting will be open until April 28.

Faraz “The Toilet” Jaka Leads the Way at WPT Championship

Faraz Jaka earned the nickname “The Toilet” for playing crappy hands.  At times it has gotten him into trouble, but this year on the World Poker Tour it has given him plenty of success.  With 18 people to go in the final event of the WPT season, Jaka leads the way, and if he is able to make the final table it will be his third one of the season. 

The worst of Jaka’s hands came with just 21 players left, with 18 making the money.  Jaka got involved in a four bet situation with Heather Sue Mercer where all of Mercer’s money got in preflop.  The two hands were naturally the pocket aces of Mercer and the 3-9 offsuit of Jaka.  The flop brought 9-5-3 giving Jaka two pair.  Mercer was unable to improve the final two cards of the board, and in disbelief, headed for the rail.

Shaun Buchanan, who held a massive chip lead after day one, is currently 7th.  Sitting in second place is David Benyamine, with WSOP Main Event runner-up David Williams sitting in second.  Also remaining are Phil Hellmuth (6th) and Scotty Nguyen (9th).

The 18 remaining players will play down to 10 on Thursday, and then on Friday the winner will be determined.

Questions Surround Full Tilt Poker Grand Jury Investigations

Over the last few weeks multiple sources went with a story reported by the “Financial Times” that Full Tilt is under grand jury investigation for money laundering chargers.  Now it is being questioned if those stories are even true at all. 

The story under question not only mentioned money laundering charges, but also suggested that some owners of Full Tilt, such as Phil Ivey, Howard Lederer and Chris Ferguson could be facing massive fines, or worse, jail time.  An attorney close to the situation is now questioning where the “Financial Times” got their information.  The same attorney wonders if there is even a grand jury investigation at all, as he was recently quoted as saying, “The story in the Financial Times is curious for the complete absence of any sources substantiating the allegations. What documents could they possibly have that say Full Tilt Poker is under a grand jury investigation?”
Also, Eric Jackson, who represents Ivey and Lederer told “The Financial Times” in the initial news story that he was unaware of any grand jury investigation.  If one was to know, you would assume it would be their attorney.  Additionally, many poker news outlets have wondered why more national and world outlets haven’t picked up on the story.  Sure, many poker sites did, but as mentioned, that was in response to the “Financial Times” story.  But, to date, main news suppliers like Associated Press and Reuters have never once mentioned the investigation.

WSOP Announces Top 20 Vote Earners for 2010 Tournament of Champions Event

Despite two months of voting left to determine who will earn nods to play in the 2010 Tournament of Champions, WSOP has released the names of the top 20 vote earners so far.

The event will feature 27 players total.  Twenty of them will come from this voting process.  Five of the 27 earned automatic bids for previous successes.  Those names and the way they earned automatic bids are Joe Cada (2009 WSOP Main Event Champion), Barry Shulman (2009 WSOPE Main Event Champion) and Annie Duke, Mike Matusow and Mike Sexton for winning the three previous Tournament of Champions events.  The final two openings will be made up of sponsor exemptions, and be announced at a later date.

The event, which will take place on June 27, is a freeroll and will have a prize pool of $1,000,000, with $500,000 designated to the winner.

The top-20 vote getters, which were released in alphabetical order, are as follows:

Doyle Brunson
Johnny Chan
T.J. Cloutier
Allen Cunningham
Antonio Esfandiari
Sam Farha
Chris Ferguson
Barry Greenstein
Joe Hachem
Jennifer Harman
Dan Harrington
Phil Hellmuth
Phil Ivey
John Juanda
Howard Lederer
Daniel Negreanu
Scotty Nguyen
Greg Raymer
Huck Seed
Erik Seidel

*Read Billy Monroe's Blog*

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed