Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | World Poker News

Women in Poker Hall of Fame Nominees Announced

Share this
It was in June that the nomination process began for the 2010 Women in Poker Hall of Fame, and the results showed that seven women qualified for the voting process. Those with the most votes will be inducted into the WiPHoF at a ceremony and celebration on September 3 in Las Vegas.

For the first time, the public will be able and encouraged to vote for the woman they feel most deserves the honor of a WiPHoF induction. The results will combine the public’s votes, which constitute 50 percent of the tally, and decisions made by WiPHoF members (including previous inductees). Though it is unclear what decision-making process will be employed when making those final choices, the public vote will clearly carry some weight. There is no indication of when the voting will close, but the induction ceremony is scheduled for September, so sometime in August may end the process.

Speaking of the ceremony, it will take place at 6:00pm at the Golden Nugget Casino Grand Ballroom in Downtown Las Vegas on September 3. The night will include a dinner and dance, kicked off by a red carpet welcome for inductees, cocktails, and a silent auction. Tickets can be purchased on the WiPHoF website, and all proceeds from the ticket sales and auction will be donated to PokerGives, a non-profit organization established by members of the poker community to benefit several well-known and long-standing charities, like the Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund, Paralyzed Veterans of America, and the Special Olympics.

The women on the voting ballot this year are as follows:

Betty Carey, a cash-game specialist who played high limit games in the 1970’s and 1980’s.

Phyllis Caro, a dealer, tournament director, and current director of poker operations at Hollywood Park Casino in Los Angeles.

Nani Dollison, a three-time WSOP bracelet winner and long-time tournament poker player.

Annie Duke, a tournament professional w/many wins to her credit, an author, and a reality television star, TOC champion, WSOP bracelet winner, and 2010 NBC Heads-Up champion.

Jennifer Harman, a famed high stakes cash game player and tournament pro, and two-time WSOP bracelet winner.

Kathy Liebert, a former business analyst on Wall Street, long-time tournament poker player, WSOP bracelet winner.

Joanne (J.J.) Liu, a tournament poker player and long-time pro.

Eligibility requirements for the women include three caveats. First, the candidate must have been an active player or industry leader for at least 15 years prior to the nomination process. Second, the person must have contributed to the world of poker in some significant way. And third, she must be a “proponent of women’s poker,” even if she does not play in ladies-only events. Presumably, as Duke has always been an opponent of most ladies-only tournaments, especially the one at the WSOP that awards a bracelet despite not being an open event, Duke still qualifies because she doesn’t oppose ALL women’s poker events. Her eligibility is presumed since she made it to the voting process.

Any of the women voted into the WiPHoF in 2010 will join past inductees - Jan Fisher, Cyndy Violette, June Field, Barbara Enright, Linda Johnson, Susie Isaacs, and Marsha Waggoner - all of whom were inducted in the past two years.

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed