Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | World Poker News

WPT Season IX Ends with Scott Seiver and Erik Seidel Claiming Titles

Share this

Poker history was made with a jam packed dual event week as the World Poker Tour (WPT) finished its IX season at the Bellagio Resort and Casino with the $25,000 WPT World Championship and the inaugural WPT Super High Roller $100,000 buy in event. A big turnout at Bellagio brought in an impressive 29 players in the WPT Super High Roller $100,000 and three players took home more than $1,000,000 in less than 12 hours combined, ending Season IX and shooting the WPT into Season X with a huge burst of momentum.

It was an amazing week as Scott Seiver captured the WPT World Championship and Erik Seidel took home first place in the highest buy-in event in the history of the US - The WPT Super High Roller $100,000 - and Andy Frankenberger wrapped up the season with the WPT Player of the Year Award.

Mike Sexton announced the Shuffle Up and Deal to kick off  the Season IX WPT World Championship as 220 players waited eagerly to take to the felt, this was a 13% increase over last year. The world's greatest players all competed for this crown jewel of poker titles and included Doyle Brunson, John Juanda, Daniel Negreanu, Justin Smith, Phil Laak, Oliver Busquet, Barry Greenstein, Dave Ulliott, Dwyte Pilgrim, Kathy Liebert, Hoyt Corkins, Tom Marchese, Mike Sexton, Carlos Mortensen, Antonio Esfandiari, Greg Brooks, and Randall Flowers.  Scott Seiver captured the title, bracelet and $1,618,344.

"I happened to have big hands,” said Seiver. "And more importantly they held.  It is the combination of luck and timing and having cards at the right time. Everything worked well today. That’s what you need to win one of these tables." On winning his first WPT title he continued, "it feels incredible."

Scott Seiver WPT
Scott Seiver WPT

As the Championship played out, 29 of the world’s best high stakes players, which included Daniel Negreanu, Erick Lindgren, Phil Laak, Tony G, Justin Bonomo, Tom Marchese, Justin Smith, Phil Galfond, Dan Shak and Vivek Rajkumar (who took 2nd in the WPT Player of the Year chase), all ponied up $100,000 to play in the World Poker Tour Super High Roller, the largest buy-in event in U.S. history.   The star filled line-up resulted in a star-studded final table with Bonomo, Rajkumar, Negreanu, and Lindgren all making the money.  Erik Seidel, a poker hall of famer, once again vanquished the fields and beat WPT title-holder Lindgren heads up.  

Seidel is in the midst of an unequaled run of play. Everyone must be wondering what his magic charm is - and hoping to find one with their name on it. With this title, he claimed $1,092,000. In less than five months, his 2011 winnings total more than $5.4 million including four titles.

Erik Seidel - WPT high roller
Erik Seidel - WPT high roller

The race for Season IX WPT Player of the Year came to an end this week when Andy Frankenberger edged out Rajkumar by 100 points and officially earned the honor. Frankenberger’s first season as a professional poker player proved the former Wall Street trader made a smart career change and if the United States would look closely at facts and figures, they might see that Frankenberger wasn't gambling, he used knowledge, practice, and skill to accomplish his feats in poker. He won the 2010 Legends of Poker title, made two final tables and cashed three times totaling more than $1.2 million in earnings.

WPT World Championship Final Table Payouts:
1. Scott Seiver, $1,618,344
2. Farzad Bonyadi, $1,061,900
3. Galen Hall, $589,355
4. Roger Teska, $371, 665
5. Tony Gargano, $278,749
6. Justin Young, $225,654

WPT Super High Roller Payouts:
1.  Erik Seidel, $1,092,780
2. Erick Lindgren, $700,500
3. Daniel Negreanu, $448,320
4. Vivek Rajkumar, $336,240
5. Justin Bonomo, $224,160

Become our friend on Facebook:
Follow us on Twitter: @WPTLiveUpdates

*photos courtesy of WPT*

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed