Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | World Poker News

Poker Hall of Fame Nominations Now Open

Share this
The Poker Hall of Fame nomination process is now open and will continue through August 14th. If you are a poker fan that has a favorite player who you want to see inducted into the Hall of Fame, now is your chance to nominate them. But the person you nominate doesn’t have to be a poker player; it can be anyone who is affiliated with poker that you think should be recognized for their achievements.

The Hall of Fame is not a bricks and mortar building like the Rock and Roll or Baseball Hall of Fame, but it is no less prestigious for poker players. The membership roster is made up of some of the most famous and accomplished poker players in the world whose names appear along with lesser known important contributors to the game.

The Poker Hall of Fame honor has been bestowed upon 40 individuals since 1979, 18 of which are still with us today. The first inductee was Nick “The Greek” Dandolos who was followed by such legendary poker players as; Johnny Moss, Bill Boyd, Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson, Doyle Brunson, Jack “Treetop” Strauss, Benny Binion, David “Chip” Reese, Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston and Stu “The Kid” Ungar.

The Poker Hall of Fame traditionally elects one or two members annually and like the previous two years, the nomination, selection and voting process will culminate with inducting the chosen inductee(s) in November as part of the WSOP Main Event Final Table festivities.

Anyone wishing to cast a nomination can do so via online submission at by submitting a nominee name and up to 250 words supporting that nominee’s worthiness.

On or about August 15, the list of nominated individuals will be forwarded to the newly-created Nominating Committee. The committee will review all nominations and determine a list of eligible candidates for 2011 induction. Around September 15th, Caesars will announce the Nominating Committee’s list which will be forwarded to the official voters, made up of current Poker Hall of Fame members and select media, who cast ballots to determine the induction class of 2011. As in the past two years, the two finalists receiving the most votes will be inducted during the enshrinement ceremony at the Final Table of the Main Event in November, 2011.

The main criteria for the Poker Hall of Fame are as follows:

•    A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
•    Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination [to be known as the “Chip Reese” rule, adopted in 2011, 20 years after Reese’s induction at age 40]
•    Played for high stakes
•    Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
•    Stood the test of time
•    Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Like PokerWorks on Facebook, follow us on Twitter!

*Image courtesy of*

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed