Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | World Series of Poker | WSOP 2011

WSOP Main Event: Day 2B Heading into Day 3

Share this
Day 2B of the 2011 WSOP Main Event is in the history books. The players who survived the battle will be taking their seats on Day 3, Thursday, due to players getting a much needed break on Wednesday, July 13th.  When the players reconvene, the massive field has finally dwindled down enough that they will all be in the same room to fight for their November Nine slot.

Day 2B started like all other days, with the exception of who uttered the famous words marking the start of the tournament. The honor of starting the tournaments by saying ‘Shuffle Up and Deal’ is one bestowed upon those who the officials feel have earned the right to stand on the main stage, before their peers, and represent the spirit of the WSOP. For Day 2B, the honor went to WSOP Dealer of the Year Sara Abdich who has dealt every WSOP since 2007. Originally from New Jersey, Sara now lives in Las Vegas and deals at the M Casino. This was a great way for the WSOP to acknowledge the outstanding work and dedication of over 1,000 of the world’s best poker dealers who were on hand to deal this year’s events.

Both flights combined on Day Two saw 4,521 players taking their seats. Among the 1,866 players who survived to advance to Day 3 were these seven former WSOP Main Event Champions:
1983:  Tom McEvoy (143,500 in chips)
2009:  Joe Cada (111,000 in chips)
1989:  Phil Hellmuth (64,900 in chips)
1986:  Berry Johnston (est. 72,000 in chips)
1996:  Huck Seed (est. 70,000 in chips)
2001:  Carlos Mortensen (est. 65,000 in chips)
2002:  Robert Varkonyi (est. 100,000 in chips

Also still alive was Lisa Hamilton, winner of the 2009 Ladies World Poker Championship. Vying to be the first lady to win the Main Event, Lisa survived to play on Day 3 where she will be returning with 126,700 in chips.

The chip leader heading into Day 3 is gold bracelet winner Ben Lamb, followed closely by Kevin Saul and the chip leader from 2A, Aleksandr Mozhnyakov, coming in third.

A few of the other famous poker names remaining were: Patrik Antonius, Dan Kelly, Justin Bonomo, John Racener, Tony Hachem, Peter Gelencser, Jeff Madsen, Robert Cheung, Victor Ramdin, Erick Lindgren, Thomas “Thunder” Keller, Lyle Berman, Sam Stein, Minh Nguyen, Matt Matros, Scott Clements, Todd Brunson, Steve Danenmann, David Chiu, Jeffrey Lisandro, Allen Cunningham, and Jake Cody.

From the field of non-poker famous names that entered the Main Event, two comedy kings remain. Known more for their comedic talents than their poker skills, Brad Garrett and Jason Alexander will also be in the Day 3 arena. 

PokerStars WSOP Live Coverage

As for those who won’t be returning on Day 3, two former Champions, Joe Hachem and Jamie Gold were eliminated along with some other famous faces which included;  Tony Dunst, Brock Parker, Shannon Elizabeth, Eugene Katchalov, Jeff Shulman, Roland de Wolfe, Ted Lawson, Barry Greenstein, Kenny Tran, Daniel Alaei, Phil Galfond, Mike Matusow, Alexandre Gomes, Kathy Liebert, Chau Giang, Phil Laak, Darvin Moon, David Sklansky, David “Devilfish” Ulliott, Paul Wasicka, Matt Jarvis, Mike Sexton, Grant Hinkle, Mike Carson, Erik Cajelais, Mark Gregorich, Brandon Adams, and J.C. Tran.

When tournament play fires up again on July 14th at 1PM PST, the Main Event Championship will be televised by ESPN as the remaining hopefuls battle to win their November Nine final table seat on July 19th. The eventual winner in November will walk away with the title of World Champion, the coveted gold bracelet and a jaw dropping first place prize of $8,771,956.

As the excitement and speculation builds about just who will be the next world poker star, it is interesting to note where past World Champions stood at this point (at the conclusion of Day 2) the year they won:

In 2010 Jonathan Duhamel ranked in 889th place.
In 2009 Joe Cada ranked in 99th place.
In 2008 Peter Eastgate ranked in 484th place.
In 2007 Jerry Yang ranked in 26th place.
In 2006 Jamie Gold ranked in 155th place.

Will it be a professional poker player who wins or another unknown that will be catapulted to instant celebrity? Although we will know the nine contenders in less than a week - the final outcome won’t be determined for four months.

Like PokerWorks on Facebook, follow us on Twitter!

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed