Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | Casino Poker | News

NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship - Phil Hellmuth just makes the cut

NBC Heads-Up
Share this

Caesars Interactive Entertainment Inc. announced the entire 64-player field for the 2013 NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship today. The first 32 players were announced earlier this week and the completed list has a few notables Phil Hellmuth, Michael Mizrachi, Phil Laak, Viktor Blom, and Gaelle Baumann.

From January 24th through the 26th Caesars Palace Las Vegas will film the event with the first round on each day starting at 1:30 p.m. local time. “Selection Wednesday” (the draw party) will take place on January 23rd at 9:00 p.m. in Caesars Palace Las Vegas at Cleopatra’s Barge.

The eighth installment of the NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship finds only three former champions invited to the party:(Hellmuth, Erik Seidel and Huck Seed). Paul Wasicka, Chris Ferguson, and Annie Duke will not play in this year's event although Ferguson has reached the championship match three times.

The selection process for this event isn't about the best players in the world or the most famous.
In 2011, ESPN's Andrew Feldman wrote, "This event doesn't feature the 64 best players in the world. It is a made-for-TV event that features names and faces that the general public recognizes, some deserving players who earned their spots based on automatic entry and celebrities who enjoy the game and could potentially move the needle."

NOTE: Several players were invited to the event but some had plans to play the marquee events at the 2013 Aussie Millions.

The complete 2013 NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship list

Gaelle BaumannJean-Robert BellandeAndy BlochViktor Blom
Liv BoereeJustin BonomoDoyle BrunsonOlivier Busquet
Dan CatesMohsin CharaniaJoseph CheongShaun Deeb
Jonathan DuhamelTom DwanEli ElezraAntonio Esfandiari
Will FaillaAndy FrankenbergerPhil GalfondMatt Glantz
Barry GreensteinBertrand “ElkY” GrospellierJennifer HarmanBrian Hastings
Isaac HaxtonPhil HellmuthJohn HenniganMaria Ho
Phil IveyFaraz JakaKyle JuliusEugene Katchalov
Phil LaakBen LambAndrew LichtenbergerMatt Matros
Mike MatusowJason MercierGreg MersonMichael Mizrachi
Chris MoneymakerJohn MonnetteChris MoormanCarlos Mortensen
Daniel NegreanuDavid OppenheimGreg RaymerVanessa Rousso
Rob SalaburuMatt SalsbergNick SchulmanHuck Seed
Erik SeidelScott SeiverJoe SerockMike Sexton
Sam SimonDan SmithJustin SmithJason Somerville
Jennifer TillyYevgeniy TimoshenkoDavid Qualifier

Follow PokerWorks on Twitter! And like us on Facebook to stay updated with poker news, events, and promotions.

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed