Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | World Series of Poker | WSOP 2013

2013 Poker Hall of Fame nominations are now open

Share this

The World Series of Poker opened nominations for the Poker Hall of Fame Class of 2013. Traditionally Hall of Fame nominees are elected annually — one or two members are brought into the coveted class — and a ceremony is held in conjunction with the final table of the WSOP Main Event. This year’s final table will take place in November.

The Hall of Fame, to date, includes 40 members and these are a few of poker's stars that grace the halls: Johnny Moss, Bill Boyd, Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson, Doyle Brunson, Benny Binion, David “Chip” Reese, Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston, Stu “The Kid” Ungar, Johnny Chan, Bobby Baldwin, and Phil Hellmuth. Eric Drache and Brian “Sailor” Roberts were added to the prestigious club in 2012.

The main criteria for the WSOP Hall of Fame is:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results

It's up to the public to nominate a player. The voting process opened on Wednesday, July 3rd, and nominations are accepted through August 15th. A nominating committee will review all submissions and determine a final list of eligible candidates once the nominations close. Two finalists who receive the most votes — as long as they are a majority — will be inducted during a ceremony in November.

Last year’s nominees who didn’t make the Class of 2012 were Chris Bjorin, Thor Hansen, George Hardie, Jennifer Harman, John Juanda, Tom McEvoy, and Scotty Nguyen.

Submit your nominations by visiting

It's time to follow PokerWorks on Twitter! And like us on Facebook to stay updated with poker news, events, and promotions.

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed