Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | World Poker News

partypoker Premier League VII starts today!

Dan Shak
Share this

partypoker's $125,000 buy-in, invitation-only Premier League VII hosted by the Playground Poker Club in Montreal, Canada, kicks off today and runs to November 26th. The winner will take home $400,000!!! partypoker announced the line-up for their highly anticipated yearly event on Monday evening.

Antonio EsfandiariDan Shak
Phil LaakVanessa Selbst
Scott SeiverDaniel Cates
Jason KoonJeff Gross
Sorel MizziGreg Mueller
Jonathan DuhamelBrian Rast

Greg Merson, 2012 World Series of Poker Main Event champion, confirmed for the event but is no longer attending. reached out to Merson on his cancellation; Merson provided the following: "Something important came up and I had to cancel last minute. Hoping I get to play the next one. Premier League is an elite event."

partypoker took feedback from players with an approach to improvement to this highly anticipated event and the structure has been altered. The Premier League changes are: 12 players will compete in six eight-handed heats, each player will play in four matches. Points are awarded based upon finishing position with the top four point earners automatically earning a seat at the final table. The remaining eight players will play in a series of best-of-three heads-up matches for the last two spots at the six-handed final table.

The 2012 partypoker Premier League VI finished with a heads-up battle between Dan Shak and Sam Trickett. Shak took down the title and won $450,000. Also headlining the final table were Antonio Esfandiari, Jonathan Duhamel, and Daniel Cates.

The Playground Club will host a $3,500+$350 buy-in WPT Montreal from November 29th-December 5th after the partypoker Premier League VII crowns a champion. Jonathan Roy won the inaugural WPT Montreal in 2012, after besting a 1,173 field of players. Roy took home a massive $777,903 for his victory along with a ticket into the WPT Champions Club.

On Tuesday night Greg Mueller announced on Twitter that he will not be in the competition:

Sad to have to pass up playing in the very prestigious premier poker league @PLAYGROUNDPOKER in Montreal & @PokerNightTV in Reno #StayinHome

Dan Colman will take Mueller's place.

Image courtesy of the partypoker blog.

We are on Facebook and tweeting on Twitter. Get your poker news fix by tuning in to poker around the world with us.

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed