Cookies on the PokerWorks Website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the PokerWorks website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time.

Continue using cookies

Poker News | World Poker News

Top 10 Finalists for 2014 Poker Hall of Fame Announced

WSOP Hall of Fame
Share this

The 2014 Poker Hall of Fame is in the spotlight with the announcement just in from the World Series of Poker on Tuesday. For the last six years that candidates have been nominated by the public. This year the finalists include five first-time nominees and five returning candidates. The news isn't extremely startling as to who is leading the group of new candidates. With this being his first year of eligibility, Daniel Negreanu is out in the lead.

Other first-time nominees are: Frenchman Bruno Fitoussi; 1975 WSOP Main Event runner-up Bob Hooks; tournament director Jack McClelland; and six-time WSOP gold bracelet winner Ted Forrest.

The nominees that make up the five returning candidates are: Jennifer Harman; Huck Seed; Humberto Brenes; Chris Bjorin; and Mike Matusow.

Voting for the Class of 2014 is decided by 21 living Hall of Fame members and a 20-member media panel - their vote will be cast before the deadline of October 10th.

Candidate must meet the following criteria to be eligible for induction:

  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Up to two candidates may be chosen out of the above listed nominees. They will join poker's elite Hall of Famers, such as Benny Binion, Johnny Moss, Doyle Brunson, Stu Ungar, David “Chip” Reese, Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston, and Phil Hellmuth. Scotty Nguyen and Tom McEvoy were voted into the Poker Hall of Fame last year.

On Sunday, November 9th, at the Las Vegas Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino, a special ceremony will be held as part of the WSOP Main Event final table festivities to induct the 2014 Poker Hall of Fame class.

It's time to follow PokerWorks on Twitter! And like us on Facebook to stay updated with poker news, events, and promotions.

News Flash

The IRS Scores Big at 2015 WSOP ME Final Table

The IRS managed to snag 34.13 percent from the payouts of the 2015 November Nine, totaling $8,467,091.

Read more

Quick Room Review

Bonus Room review

Subscribe to the Nightly Turbo

Be the first to know all the latest poker news, tournament results, gossip and learn all about the best online poker deals straight from your inbox.

RSS Feed